Teachers’ retirement age: FG gives crucial update on Buhari’s approval

– The federal government is serious about the new retirement age for teachers

– The new age, 65 years, was approved by the Federal Executive Council (FEC) on Wednesday, January 20

– The policy, according to the government, took effect on Friday, January 1

– The minister of education, Adamu Adamu, disclosed this in Abuja at a briefing on Thursday, January 21

The federal government has given an important update on the new age retirement for all teachers in the country working in the civil service.

During a ministerial briefing in Abuja on Thursday, January 21, the minister of education, Adamu Adamu, said that the new age, fixed at 65 years, took effect from Friday, January 1.

However, Adamu stated that other policies approved by President Muhammadu Buhari for teachers’ welfare will not begin uniformly.

The federal government said not all policies for teachers will take effect uniformly

The minister said the dates for other policies would be announced only after the national coordinating committee submits its report. Earlier, during its weekly meeting held on Wednesday, the FEC approved the new retirement age for teachers which was fixed at 65 years henceforth.

Among other things, the bill seeks to give legal backing to new measures by President Buhari’s administration to enhance the teaching profession in Nigeria such as the introduction of bursary awards, including special rural posting allowances. The decision of the FEC was made known to journalists by Adamu in Abuja on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, the government had inaugurated the national implementation committee on the revitalization and repositioning of the teaching profession towards looking at the newly approved special teachers’ salary. The committee was set-up on Thursday, November 19, in Abuja, by Adamu.

Legit.ng gathered that the committee comprises the executive secretaries of the National Universities Commission and National Commission for Colleges of Education as well as the chairman of the National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *