SBMC created to support schools – Lagos

The Lagos State Commissioner for Education, Mrs Folasade Adefisayo has said the School-Based Management Committees was established to provide support to schools around their communities.

Speaking on Thursday at the training organised by the Human Development Initiatives for the SBMC, Adefisayo said the committee members were expected to cooperate with the principals and teachers in delivering quality education to the children.

The SBMC who were trained include principals of secondary schools who would go to their various communities to set up the committee.

“We are getting the committee to be involved in the leadership and governance of our schools. We are getting committee members into SBMC who will make certain decisions in the running of our schools. It is mainly because we want to reach out to our communities, to realise that this school is theirs, their children are in the school; there is a principal to ensure that these children learn.

“We have to realise that the principal is the chief executive officer and head of the school, the SBMC are to support the principals and teachers in delivering quality education; it is not to take over the school, it is a supportive role and cooperation with the school to do whatever they can to move it to the highest level possible.”

The executive director, HDI, Mrs Olufunsho Owansoye, encouraged the participants to manage the situations in their respective schools as a team to bring about the desired improvement.

She said, “To our wonderful participants, your capacities will be built and you will be equipped with requisite knowledge, skills and candor to carry out your new roles, especially creating awareness on the importance of education.

“From your name, School-Based Management Committee, you need to manage situations in your respective schools as a team to bring about the desired school improvement and development.

“We expect all participants at this programme to step-down this training to other members of SBMC in their respective schools, Local Government and Education Districts.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *