Ondo rewards 48 pupils for winning national competitions

No fewer than 48 pupils of private and public primary and secondary schools who won prizes in both  international and national competitions while  representing Ondo state were rewarded by the government.

Some of the beneficiaries of the award included, Abiodun Ayomide of Cabataph Schools, Akure, who emerged the overall best pupil in the 2020 Common Entrance Examination,  Akinwande Oluwatomisin of Greater Tomorrow Secondary School, Arigidi Akoko and Alex Ogunmakin of St. Peter’s  Unity Secondary School, Akure, who excelled in the state examinations during the 2020/2021 academic session.

At the presentation of the awards to the beneficiaries, held in Akure, the state governor, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu, said the performance of the pupils in the competitions was a testimony of the commitment of his administration to the education sector.

The governor, who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Princess Oladunni Odu, said the government had decided to reward the 48 students, with ICT equipment worth N3.7million .

He said, “I must confess that our joy knows no bounds today as we all gather here to celebrate the excellent performances of our children.

Celebrating those who deserve it, is an encouragement for those coming behind to emulate them.  I am glad that these award winners made use of the rare and golden opportunities provided by the government.”

The governor, who urged the pupils to continue to be focused, determined and hard-working, declared that the teachers that took part in the coaching of the pupils would also be rewarded.

Speaking at the programme, the proprietor of Cabataph school, Akure, Mr Yinka Ogunode, lauded the government for the gesture, saying it would encourage the pupils to focus more on their studies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *